Some students get their best study done at night Others prefer to study during the day Which time do you prefer for getting study done

These days, whenever you turn on the television or flicks through the pages of a newspaper, you may learn about the victims of a crime. But what is the most effective method of dealing with the increasing crime rates in our society? Some people believe that the best way to punish criminals is to sentence them to time in confinement. I completely disagree with that idea and in this essay I will support my opinion with examples. Firstly, life behind bars is far too comfortable for prisoners. For example, many inmates have access to luxuries such as televisions, computers and sports facilities and so on. In other words, spending time in jail can be more likely to being in a holiday camp. If the lockup is going to act as a deterrent, then I believe it needs to be considerably tougher. Another reason why I disagree with confinement as a punishment is that a large number of prisoners are not actually a danger to society. Take shoplifters as an example. They are often locked up in the same cells as murderers, rapists and violent criminals. I strongly believe that this is a serious waste of taxpayers’ money. What is more, petty criminals may even learn how to commit more serious crimes when they are inside. On the other hand, there is an argument that jail can help to rehabilitate offenders. Many inmates have the opportunity to study while they are doing time. As a result, many never re-offend when they are released. In conclusion, although penitentiary is considered to be the best way to punish criminals, I believe it may too soft and that it is not necessary in the majority of cases. Personally, I think lockup should be the last option when all else has failed.