Some schools put the most advanced students in separate classes from their peers so they can study more challenging materials. Do the advantages of this practice outweigh the disadvantages?

It is commonly believed by many that university education should target more on academic subjects, while some others believe that practical subjects should be given more preference at higher educational institutions. In this essay, I will examine both the views and provide my opinion. To begin with, academic subjects are essential for the background knowledge and cultural awareness. If these subjects got removed from the curriculum or given lower preference, then younger generation would lack their interest in those subjects. Moreover, professions such as journalism, archaeologist and professors require immense study about history and other academic subjects which could not be gained in a better way than higher education institutions. Also, there is a very famous saying that 'a nation will soon lose his existence, if its youth has forgotten its history'. Every youngster should remember the sacrifices of freedom fighters and their national culture, including food, language, dressing style. It could be plausible if universities give more preference to academic subjects. On the other side, In this competitive world, practical knowledge of the subjects had become a necessity. Most of the companies hire those students who have some practical studies. Also to mark one's place in this competent world, everyone has to earn extraordinary skills, thus having studied practical subjects such as engineering and mechanics is beneficial. In my opinion, universities should focus more on practical courses rather than theoretical courses. After all, every student pursue higher studies with a motive to grab a high-profile job and earn a decent salary which is easily possible if one has learned practical subjects. In conclusion, both academic studies and practical studies are an essential part of the higher studies syllabus hence both the courses have their own advantages. However, I feel that colleges should concentrate on practical studies as they offer better opportunities of job for students.