Some schools are opting to save money by eliminating art classes.

Schools play a crucial role in shaping the future of a child. The world has become more competitive, and hence the preference is being given to the academic education right from the beginning even in schools. Parents are willing to send their children to the most expensive schools, however they rarely show interest in spending on extra curricular activities like arts, sports and music as they think of it as a waste of time. This has resulted in schools, to consider arts as a waste of money which I totally disagree with. In regards to the above statement, there are some schools which mainly function to benefit students with good grades and help them with admissions into a good university. These schools, with high infrastructure and exclusive study environments, undoubtedly offer a great foundation to the students to achieve their goals in the future. On the contrary, there are some schools which believe that arts and sports equally contribute to the personal development of the children at their young age. Most of the schools have realised that continuous classroom study makes students extremely stressful, which eventually decreases the performance and productivity of the pupils in a class. Moreover, it is essential to provide school children the opportunity to try different arts to know their strengths and weakness which is why many schools have changed their curriculum to give equal importance for both studies and arts. Furthermore, a recent study states that kids who are interested in art exhibit smarter skills in their academics as well, when they grow up in the future unlike kids who are just limited to books in their young age. The concept of professional education has also changed in recent times because of the exposure to the creative fields and the success some people have achieved in these areas. For example, previous professions like Engineering and medicine are known to be highly successful which can offer reputed jobs and help you earn money for the living. But today, there are enough opportunities for people who are interested in arts like music, dance, acting and painting to achieve equal name and fame just like the conventional professions which is why these arts are also being encouraged at schools to provide the right direction. Henceforth, the significance of arts in schools has increased over the years changing the idea of eliminating art classes to save money. To conclude, the main interest of schools is to guide students to show the right direction to make their dreams come true, be it becoming an Engineer or becoming an Artist. Schools consider that it is their responsibility to encourage the student in talking up arts based on their interest, which is why I disagree that schools are trying to save money by not offering art classes anymore.