Some say that Technology has made food surplus. Others say it has made food harmful.

A highly controversial issue today relates to technology in relation to food production. In this essay, I am going to examine this question from both points of view and then give my own opinion on the matter. On one side of the argument there are people who argue that the benefits of technology in food production considerably outweighs its disadvantages. The main reason for believing this is that with the advancement of technology processing and packaging food has become a seamless process. It is also possible to say that with the advent of agricultural machines for land cultivation, the standard of food produced has increased tremendously. One good example of this is the Sumal food factory in Kuala Lumpur where a thousand bags of beans are produced daily. On the other hand, it is also possible to make the opposing case. It is often argued that in fact consuming technologically produced food is dangerous to the health of the consumer. People often have this opinion because they feel that processed food tend to lose more than 80 percent of its nutrients in comparison to fresh farm produce naturally cultivated and consumed. A second point is that due the use of machineries for the production and processing of food the unemployment is at an all-time high as workers are being replaced with machines. A particularly good example is the mass lay off of 1000 workers from Landu farms in 2018, these workers complained about being replaced with machines. In conclusion, I believe both arguments have their merits. On balance, however, I feel that technology has and will always be a blessing to mankind in the area of food production. This is because more people are being fed and are able to afford these commodities due to the reduced sale prices.