Some say that secondary school should spend less time on traditional subjects such as history and should spend more time on communication skills and business courses. with it?

The educative process plays a pivotal role in a child's life. There are those who say that subjects such as history should be given less time and more focus on communication and business courses. I, however, disagree with this idea to a large extent for reasons I will outline below. From an overall perspective, there is a wide range of reasons why people believe that traditional subjects are necessary to teach in the secondary school curriculum. Perhaps the main point in favor of this trend is that such subjects are well-equipped with the knowledge of our ancestors down through the ages. As a result, children will get to know how to deal with situations that may crop up at any time. Secondly, a school-goer do not have the maturity level to know what his real interest is in studying. The result of this is the options for children to choose subjects is limited, which in turn could have a detrimental impact on them. Every inanimate object has a history behind it. A good illustration of this is that those studying in educational institutions cannot become good doctors if they do not know the history behind that profession. Despite these arguments, there is also a case for the idea that communication and business courses should be given more time. The main reason is that such skills have become a need of the hour as there is cut-throat competition in every field. For instance, Multinational Companies such as Infosys, Wipro are looking for practical knowledge of a candidate which can only be achieved through hands-on training. In conclusion, it must be said that historical subjects are equally important as compared to business courses. Overall, I would have to say that I partially disagree with the idea because to be a successful person, it is necessary to know the importance of things around us.