Some say that due to heavy traffic governments need to build more roads in metropolitan cities, while others argue this isn't the right solution.

Advancement of the world has brought tremendous development in the transportation system, but in developing and undeveloped countries, increases in private vehicles has become the main reason of traffic blocks. Some people argue that the government should take initiatives in building more roads to solve this problem but some others argue building road is not the right solution. However, I tend to agree with the latter statement that construction of new roads is not the only and proper solution for it. First and foremost, government’s initiative to make new roads for reducing the heavy traffic in metropolitan cities is not the way but it is the wastage of government funds which should be used for the basic purpose of the society. To be precise, building new roads instead of limiting private vehicles will do no effect on traffic flow. For example, a country like India has to give more priority to the basic needs of low-income society such as in healthcare, employment, education more instead of developing road system which is of least important for the development of a country. Moreover, one of the other reasons why it is not a right solution to build new roads is that it is wastage of land resource. To be clear, construction of new roads will take away acres of land from agriculture which affect the economy of the farmers that lead to impact the revenue of that particular place. However, the argument of building new roads to reduce heavy traffic by government is mainly because of wastage of time and fuel spent in the traffic blocks but if the same traffic can be managed by endorsing new rules to limit private vehicles and encourage and improve public transport facility which can reduce heavy traffic to a larger extent. To sum up, after analysing the argument of building roads by public sector and the opposite view that it is not the only right solution, it is evident that if government take initiatives to control the number of private vehicles by increasing taxes and parking charges, and also by developing public transportation system it can not only control heavy traffic but also its will be a great help for the next generation by saving fuel, time and life from accidents.