In today's world, people are living longer than the past. What could be possible reasons for this? Many people think that this trend is negative for society.

As the world's economy has grown considerably, earning potential amongst people has increased at a quicker rate. Besides, the advancement in technology and medical research have made it possible to cure many diseases. Thus these have enhanced people's lifestyle. Moreover, medical developments have also affected the human health condition very positively and this gives a longer life expectancy to people. Many people think that increased average life is beneficial for the society. However, others criticise it and think that this is negative for the world. In this essay, both of these views are analysed before a logical conclusion is reached. The medical advancement, innovation and scientific research on deadly diseases have made it possible for people to live longer than the previous generations. The improved lifestyle, globalisation and better medical facilities have increased the average life expectancy in many countries. The scarcity of foods and shelter was much more in the previous generations and famine was common in the last century but not anymore. People have better lifestyle and information at their fingertips. As a result, their health condition has enhanced and so has their life expectancy. Consequently, the ratio of the older population has increased in many countries. That creates a pressure to some extent on a country's economy. For example, countries like Japan have a huge population of 60-70 years old who cannot actively contribute towards the economic growth of the country but the government needs a huge budget to support them. This has even led to a shortage of manpower in different sectors in some countries. Moreover, the government also needs to provide schemes for elderly people like pension schemes as well as other economic benefits for them. This is often a challenge in a developing or less-developed country. Thus the negative impacts of increased life expectancy can not be ignored. However, there are certain benefits of longer living that we must take into consideration before supporting or opposing it. For instance, If elderly people get involved in the decision-making process and in professions like politics, teaching, writing, mentoring, the country can be benefitted immensely. The older generation can pass their history, traditions and experience among the young generation and  that would always be beneficial. For instance, in Indian grandparents have a great importance while taking any important decision. Additionally, they can also be able to take care of any child of the family. Obviously, children require love, lesson, teaching and sympathy which they can get from their grandparents. From this relationship among family members can become stronger. It is quite evident that longer life has more benefits than drawbacks. The experience of older people could be used in education, politics and in other fields to enhance the overall economy of a country. Older people can give better suggestion to address a difficult situation from their experience and those experiences should be used in family and society. They preserve the manual way of living live and that has a great value to our society. After analysing, pros and cons of longer life expectancy, it has been proved that increases life gives more benefits to the society. I, therefore, strongly oppose the viewpoint that longer life trend is negative for the society. It is hoped that this trend will be effective in foreseeable future.