Some say that due to heavy traffic governments need to build more roads in metropolitan cities, while others argue this isn't the right solution.

Over the past years, urban population in cities and towns have grown faster than outlying areas mainly due to better economic opportunities. It is known for a fact that more jobs are agglomerated in the nation’s city centre since this is where the central government is seated. Thus, young people from the countryside are driven to migrate to urban areas. Because of the declining population of the labour force in the countryside, there may be negative implications observed in both social and economic systems. For instance, healthcare expenses are perceived to increase with age in some countries. Older people, especially those with sickness, are required with more medication for maintenance. Furthermore, an area dominated with elderly population has special needs of mobility and accessibility such as the transport system. It would be necessary for the local government to modify these services according to the needs of their people. Thus, it is likely that this scenario will entail much economic cost to the local administration. On the other hand, there will also be socioeconomic issues brought about by the expanding population in cities and towns. For example, the incoming young people from the countryside may exceed the holding capacity of the land area. It is in this context where informal settlements start to arise. The central government is now faced with additional problems of social security. In addition, greater people would mean a greater number of incoming and outgoing vehicles that can lead to traffic congestion if the public transportation system is not well-managed. While it is the daily commuters who will be more affected, the operations of companies will be affected along with the interconnected services. The influx of people from the countryside will indeed bring problems that add to the complexity of cities and towns. As a solution, both the local and central government should work on providing economic opportunities to both the rural and urban populations. The local government of the countryside should focus on improving the potential of the environment. In this way, companies may recognize its economic potential and start investments that would generate job opportunities for the rural population. The central government, in one hand, should decentralize the business district to nearby towns to enable access to rural areas. Solutions would be more effective if it would come from the government that mainly administers programs and policies for the people.