Some products can be made quickly by a machine. Other items take a long time to be made by hand. As a buyer, which do you prefer and why? Give specific details and examples in your answer.

Industrial revolution paved the way to the mass production of goods by using machinery which further magnified with the development of technology from 20th century onward. But that didn’t completely send away the good old hand made products from the market. In fact, they are making a huge come back, and sometimes with a premium price. I as a consumer prefer to buy the machine made products due to several reasons including but not limited to quality and price. People used to make all products using their hands prior to the arrival of machinery. But there was a limitation to the amount one person could do in a day. When the product is handmade, it doesn’t always stick to the same dimensions, quality and appearance due to the fact that the methodology of making by hand is crude and the ultimate product price is also higher. On the contrary, machine made products always confer to the same dimensions, quality and appearance throughout the production due to the various processes and quality check that occur in the production line. Moreover, the process is automated and needs minimal human interference and can produce in large quantities in a limited time which consequently bring the product price down. In contrast, the mass production also comes at a cost, which may be intangible, but that affects directly to the environment. Because of the fact that mass production by machines involves lot of material, energy and other resources and produces more waste, people who are more environmentally conscious prefer to buy the handmade products which does much less harm to the environment during its production. In conclusion, there are compelling reasons to buy both machine made products as well as hand made products. Most people prefer to choose machine made products for their quality, uniformity and cheaper price. But, in future, with the increasing concerns over the environment, this balance may shift to the other side.