Some peopre believe governmenfs should spend moneY on building troin ond subway lines fo reduce lroffic congeslion. Ofhers think lhot buitding more ond wider roods ore lhe befler woy lo reduce lroffic congesfion. Discuss bolh views ond give your opinion

It is indubitable that transport congestion is a growing anxiety in many parts of the world. ln order to mitigate this problem, some suggest that roads should be fabricated. Others, however, believe that public transportation, such as trains and metro lines should be constructed. Both of these methods will be analysed below. l, personally side with the latter view. On the one hand, expanding the route network could naturally ease transit jams. Obviously, more and more private vehicles would be accommodated and commute time would reduce. This strategy would also be good from the economic perspective. The cost of track construction would be much lower than that of underground lines. The money thus saved can be used for other key sectors, such as health care and education. On the other hand, construction of mega rail systems is a more effective method to improve traffic conditions. There are compelling evidences to support the investment in such public transportation. ln countries where subway systems have been made up to standardize, the number of private vehicles has come down. Trains can carry a much larger number of passengers than any other form of transport. Additionally, city dwellers can save time and also money on travelling expenses. For instance, in New Delhi, many people now prefer to travel by Metros rather than their private vehicles because of the comfort and the quality. I personally believe that in places where the budget of the governments is constrained, a combination of both approaches is needed. For example, in India, the road networks are being expanded in almost all places, but subway lines are also being added slowly and steadily in many cities. ln the foreseeable future, the expanded road networks are also going to prove inadequate, and so subway lines would remain the only solution. To conclude, both methods discussed above can provide relief on our traffic congestion. However, it is my opinion that the method to build trains and subways, makes more sense in the long run.