Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later. Some people think that having these people to give a talk to school students is the best way to tell them about the dangers of committing a crime.

Some people believe that some ex-offenders who become law-abiding citizens later in their life should have a talk with students. Personally, I totally advocate that school students’ attending a talk given by erstwhile inmates is the most suitable way to make them more aware of the risks of carrying out unlawful activities. First and foremost, having confabulation with ex-criminals could educate young people about the harsh life in prison after having been engaged in illegal activities. The previous prison would share their past experience of prison problems such as prison violence or sexual assault. Therefore, this would act as a deterrent to youth crime as they are enlightened on the hidden truth behind thorny prison issues encountered by these used-to-be-offenders. Consequently, it is essential for pupils to converse with used-to-be wrongdoers who respect the law after being out of prison. The alternatives to using reformed criminals to instruct students about crime would be less effective. One option would be for police officers to visit schools and speak to school children. This could be useful in terms of informing students about what happened to lawbreakers when they are caught, but young people are often reluctant to take advice from figures of authority. A second option would be for school teachers to talk to their students about criminal problems, but I doubt that students would see teachers as credible sources of information about this topic. In conclusion, I entirely support that people who have turned their lives around after serving a prison sentence could help to deter pupils from committing crimes.