Some people want independence from their parents as soon as possible. Other people prefer to stay with their families for a longer time.

Some young people prefer to leave parental home for independence as soon as possible while others would rather to stay longer. As for me, I would stay with my parents for a longer time unitl I am fianicially independent to afford housing on my own. Leaving parental home as part of the transititon to adulthood would surely grant some adults' independence. However, moving out does not neccarilly mean independence for young people. The ability to live on one' s own is the core of independence, regardlless whether he or she lives under his or her parents' roof or not. I prefer to stay at my parents' house for a longer time because I want a smoother transtition to adualthood. Nowadays, housing is not that affordable to most people in their 20s, especially for the early 20s. Living with parents would help save up a lot, thus ensuring finanical independence to come earlier. As for people who move out soon, they might spend quite a lot to rent a living place and it is highly likely that some of them can only afford a less cozy room. Though living away from parents would provide them a sense of independence, the trade-off for such independence does not seem economical to me. Independence is not just about living alone. Independence is about solving problems in a matual way. For people who move out young, it is not deniable that they would learn how to live on their own by living away from parents. However, it is also undeniable that most of them would struggel due to tight budget since housing costs much and young people tend to earn less. Contrary to moving out, staying longer with parents can facilite younge people to save money on housing. Some may argue that these people who are reluctant to leave home never get independent because they do not have the chance to solve problems solely. Plausible as it may seem at the first glance, however, such claim disregard that moving out alone does not guarantee independence. For example, if people who move out but cannot afford the rent and still ask their parent for fianicial support, that doesn' t mean independence. Likewise, for people who stay but manage to plan their budget, it is independence. In sum, moving out of parents' place could provide some independence to some adults. However, independence is not only about leaving home. The key to successful transition to adulthood requires more than that and the core of independence is solving problems matually. Leaving home too early is finacially reeless.