Some people want government to spend money on life on other planets. However, others think it is a waste of public money when the earth already has so many problems.

In today’s technologically advanced world, where field of astronomy has reached the zenith of success, making it possible for man to reach other planets of the universe. Some section of the society supports this development. Whereas, others have contrasting views. In my opinion. Research investments in such an important field is crucial. However, it should be carried out by only developed and affluent nations, having ample resources to meet the basic necessities of its citizenry. Firstly, considering the current global challenges related to fossil fuel depletion, shortage of natural energy, water scarcity etc. it is imminent that natural resources would soon be depleted. Therefore, it is must for scientist to explore alternate means of energy, for which other planets are inevitably the first potential candidates for natural resources. For instance, scientist have recently discovered a special chemical on planet Venus, which has potential of being useful in treating various diseases. Secondly, with ever increasing population on earth, sooner or later additional space would be required, for which life on other objects is first and only option. Furthermore, with development of technology, we can consider other planets to be a good future tourist spot, provided we successfully identify one at first place. On the other hand, considering the current global economic unrest. Especially in numerous African and Asian countries, some people expects government to solve bigger social problems such as, unemployment, scarcity in food supplies, falling adult literacy rates etc. More importantly, Earth is currently under haunting threats of various environmental challenges in the form of global warming, endangered species, and damage to ecosystem etc. which require immediate attention, in the form of public funding to conduct better research. Therefore, considering these factors, certain people believe it is waste of tax payer’s money to be invested on space exploration which does not have immediate tangible results. To conclude, it is important for humanity to be prepared and be ready with alternate sources of energy. To do so, huge investments be done on space exploration programs. However, only affluent nations, capable of handling such a huge scale of research must take part in this cause.