Some people think it’s better to choose friends who always have the same opinions as them. Other people believe it’s good to have friends who sometimes disagree with them.

Choosing a friend and maintaining that friendship is crucial for staying mentally healthy. Some believe that friends should accord with them on every single topic while others view disagreement as beneficial and even constructive in certain situations. In this essay, I will discuss both opinions and give my own opinion. To start with, opinions form characters and similar beliefs signify same characters. One of the advantages of having a friend with similar or same beliefs is that you can share hobbies and maintain your amity without fretting over quarrels and their grave repercussions. For instance, friends who agree that gambling in a poker game is ethically unproblematic can spend long hours together getting pleasure from the game without having to worry about the pangs of conscience. If these two friends had different stances towards poker, they would not be able to enjoy the game together. However, discord in friendship is essential for vital decisions in your life. Disagreement can shed light on those aspects of life you are unaware of and this can lead to success. For instance, while pondering over immigrating to Canada a couple of years ago, I sought consultation from friends who disagreed with me on dozens of issues. Despite this, I found their suggestions about employment opportunities practical as they enlightened me about the issues I had neither foreseen on my own nor received from friends similar to me in character. Had I not listened to their differing opinions, I would not have been able to find a proper job in such a short time after landing in Canada. In conclusion, there are certainly benefits to having friends who share the same values and opinions as us; it is equally important to have friends who can offer a different perspective on things.