some people thinks that development of technology is reducing crime while think that it encourages crime? give your opinion?

These days, there is an ongoing discussion between people about the role of technology in influencing crime. While it is possible to claim that it encourages criminal activity, some argue the otherwise. In this essay, I shall discuss both sides of the given statement and will provide my point of view with examples as required. To begin with, the role of technology as an enabler in many applications has provided tremendous benefits to the humankind. One such example of that is its utilisation in the fight against the wrong. For instance, in Singapore, the civic authorities used it to prevent crime by predicting it before hand. As a result, this country now enjoys a great reputation for providing a safe place for its residents. On the other hand, due to its nature of availability and readiness, it can be exploited for not so ideal purposes such as cybercrime. For example, recently, a group of talented teenagers hacked a bank in order to fund their tuition fees. Up on investigation, these teenagers were not found guilty as they hacked the bank by accident. However, it is important to realise that they were presented an opportunity due to the blind spots. In conclusion, as explained in both the scenarios above, it is clearly certain that technology can be used for good and bad purposes. However, in my view, it is important to establish some clear guidelines before applying it and therefore enhancing its usability for the greater good of society by reducing crime.