Some people think young people should be free to choose their job, while others believe that they should be realistic and think about their future.

Choosing a career path is probably one of the most important decisions we make during our lifetime. Personally speaking, young adults should have the freedom to choose their professions while they also need to take considerations about reality. On the one hand, there is one main reason why youngsters should choose their jobs very carefully, and that they must weigh pros and cons before any irrational decision to be made. To be specific, it is undeniable that we are living in a world of consumerism, meaning we need to first and foremost make a living by ourselves to meet the basic survival preconditions. Modern people are usually faced with various kinds of spending such as housing, food and clothing and none of these could have been met if he or she doesn’t have a stable job to provide for these expenditures. On the contrary, if a person only has a hollow dream and no practical skills, it isn’t hard to imagine that he would have difficulties in finding a job, let alone lead a decent life. On the other hand, I am more in favor of the argument that young people should choose their career path freely by following their hearts. In the first place, if people were given freedom to choose the professions they are so passionate about, they would feel more motivated, they would put extra effort in their working, and therefore they are more likely to succeed than their peers. For example, many Hollywood stars chose the acting career which they were so believe in and fought for and eventually made it possible. In addition, this freedom and passion people feel at work can make a huge difference to worker’s level of happiness and general quality of life. By contrast, I have seen people regretting so much as they gave up the chance to be whoever they want to be. In conclusion, while I understand the necessity of youngsters being realistic, I am convinced that they should take on the path they are interested in.