Some people believe that parents have a great influence on children’s growth but influences from the outside play a more important role.

One of the highly controversial issues today relates to what element influences a child' s growth more: parents or the external world. Personally, I firmly believe that family is the most important factor in overall child development by the nature of attachment given during childhood and parenting styles used thus affecting their behavior. Truth be told, parents provide bonding and first relationship as well as a supportive and secure environment for their kids unconditionally by nurturing and protecting them. Obviously, due to their curiosity and immaturity, children are easily tempted to some forbidden acts like using illegal drugs or stealing money. That makes the part of the parents' guidance and supervision much more significant. Furthermore, if a child wants to take a piece of advice from someone, definitely parents are the one willing to lead them in the correct path and distinguishing between the right and the wrong, not the other people. Besides, styles of parenting have a big effect on child development, as well. Taking an idiom -" Like father, like son" - as an example, children tend to notice and imitate parents' behaviors because they regard parents as their ideal " role models" . So, they are able to form as well as develop their confidence, socialization skills, morals, values and views on life through their interaction with parents at the early ages. In conclusion, although, there may have a few effects coming from outside, I apparently believe that the parents' influence affects the cognitive development of a child to be a good or bad person from his or her core.