Some people think the fittest and strongest individuals and teams will win in sports, while others believe it is those who have a good mental attitude will win in the end.

Some hold a belief that sports players and teams with the best physical strength will achieve victory, whereas others consider those having a healthy mental attitude will win after all. This essay firmly advocates the latter view that mentality-related factors play a crucial role in the winning of sports teams and players despite the significance of physical strength. In this essay, the two notions above would be thoroughly discussed. As mentioned earlier, many deem the sports teams with most athletic players would easily win the games. This thought probably derives from the general conception that all sports require physical strength as a competitive advantage for winning. However, the viewpoint faces disapproval since besides physical requirement, an appropriate strategy is also essential, and in some cases, the reasonable strategy can even outweigh the physical prowess in sports. Take Barcelona Football Club as an example where the fitness of various professional players is not as ideal as other teams' players, especially Messi. However, the Blaugrana has become the world champion many times already due to their notorious tiki-taka strategy that requires the flexibility in moving than using much physical strength. Also, Messi, a 169cm-tall professional soccer player that is far shorter than his colleagues worldwide, has been the world's best soccer players for six times over the decade already due to his outstanding skills. On the other hand, some people consider the first mentality of players as the main factor for their teams to win the match. This opinion might emerge from those competitors already attaining a certain level that meets the general standard of the competition. Therefore, the only chief element contributing to the difference between teams and individuals is their mental attitude, such as bravery or determination. The opinion appears to be true because, in many actual cases, underestimated teams or individuals were able to win the game thanks to their decent morale and the contempt of their competitors displaying toward them. Take the Vietnam U-23 football team as an example. As they were new and usually underrated, their competitors did not take them seriously. The Vietnam team, as a result, defeated them one by one and straightly made it to the final game due to their extremely high determination throughout the tournament. To conclude, although advocates of fitness and physical strength in sports might deem these two factors inevitable for players and teams to win, this essay sides with the opposing view that those having a right mental attitude will win at the end.