Some people think the best way to motivate and encourage people to work hard is to pay them based on how much they produce and sell.

In recent times, there has been lots of debate on the most efficient ways to boost employee morale in the workplace. Some people believe that, it is best for payment to be based on actual number of goods produce and sold. This essay will discuss why the above viewpoint is considered appropriate. Firstly, people have the opportunity to generate more income, when they know that their pay is tied to their level of performance. This is because, they will have to put in more effort to exceed their target produce or sales in order to be eligible to get bonus. For instance, in my organisation, commission was paid to members of staff that achieve 100% of sales target. As a result, staff tend to go the extra mile to surpass the set target in order to earn the commission. Secondly, when people are aware that salary is linked to productivity rather than being a subjective process, will inspire them to work more. In other words, earnings that is not subject to supervisor/employer feelings, personal judgement of the employee, or being biased. For example, in a recent survey conducted on bank employees in Nigeria, it was discovered that, the staff morale was not affected by the attitude of their superior, because they were being appraised and pay based on the amount of investment product sold. Thus, making them to thrive to sell more to get a higher appraisal grade and where possible, promotions or awards. In conclusion, when considering the best way to boost employee confidence and inspire them, payments for jobs done should be based on actual sales made or good's produce. Thereby, giving them the avenue to earn more income/get recognised.