Some people think international car free days are an effective way of reducing air pollution, others think there are some other ways.

Pollution is beyond doubt, a raging issue. Numerous steps are being taken by governments across the world to combat this. No-cars day is one such initiative which was being followed in most countries to combat greenhouse gasses. While some believe this is an effective approach, others argue there are alternatives. In this essay, I am going to discuss both the views and express my thoughts as well. Car-free days are being practised in many countries. However, there are no standards defined on a global scale. Many believe international car-free days are very effective in fighting air-pollution. Because, if implemented, this will raise awareness among the citizens and spread like a chain reaction. For example, in New Delhi alone, there are three million vehicles plying on the road every day. If at least one third of these are taken off the road, a few tonnes of poisonous gases are stopped from getting released into the atmosphere. This may be just a drop in the ocean, but it becomes significant on a global scale when everybody follows. On the other hand, many argue there are more efficient ways to deal with pollution like using non emitting vehicles, curbs on industries, planting trees. Many countries are contemplating a complete ban on polluting vehicles in the next couple of years. By this, they are achieving the desired results without compromising on the comfort of citizens which makes it more effective. These are implemented in Scandinavian countries and are proven to be quite effective. Secondly, there are suggestions, to stop non eco-friendly constructions, restrictions on polluting industries etc. These are effective because vehicular emission contributes only to 10% of total air pollution. Having discussed about both these views, I strongly believe that while international car free days may not be as efficient as the other methods, it helps in raising awareness. Also, there are a few shortcomings in the latter approaches. The efficient methods come at a cost and many countries are not ready to invest. To conclude, I agree that international car free days are not so effective but it is our only choice till we get a cheaper alternative.