Some people think that zoos are cruel and all the zoos should be closed. However, other people think that zoos are useful to protect the rare animals.

Since long ago, people have been arguing that protecting animals hurt them, some people hold the idea that keeping animals in zoos have some advantages; however, some people stick to the point that keeping animals in captivity in zoos is erroneous. I personally agree with the latter group. To begin with, when animals are kept in captivity in zoos we destroy their natural life and alter the natural behaviours of them; on the other word, animals that are protected in zoos can't behave naturally. For example, liens can hardly walk for 50 meters when are kept in cages. In contrast, when they live in jangle they walk for a hundred km, so predatory animals become more aggressive as well when restricted. Furthermore, the temperature is extremely an important factor in habitats and zoos can not provide temperature same as the natural environment of the animals. For instance, penguins must live in a cold environment. Thus, hot habitat contributes to death of them. On another point of view, the reason why some people defend keeping animals in zoos lie in the fact that animals are under threat from human activities. To be more precise, every year people cut down trees to make more buildings or to extend roads which means they destroy the habitats of several animal species. In addition, over hunting for the purpose of animals valuable parts such as their fur or ivory culminates inn extinction of some species as well. Consequently, zoos can be better places for animals because zoos provide a safe place for animals in order to protect endangered animals from extinction. For example, zoos protect animals from hunt and by vaccinating animal veterinarians protect them from death and do not get sick, so with medical facilities and care option for each animal in zoo animals can live longer. In conclusion, animals should protect from danger and extinction in their natural habitats, but they should not keep in captivity; although we can deny zoos play significant role to protect rare animals.