Some people think that you can never become fluent in a language unless you have spent time living or working in that country.

Learning a new language from text books and applying grammar rules, which are the essence of learning any language, but not necessarily enough. Using the language with native speaker is what ensures language fluency. I strongly concur with the need of extensive period of the language use in context. To start with, using the language is a skill you can acquire, which is crucial to understand the cultural aspect of a country, but it is not enough without living a couple of month and use it with locals. For instance, in Italy, people there use their non-verbal to express themselves. Although you will be using the appropriate verbs or sentence structure, but not enough to fluently speak the Italian language without using hand gestures. Therefore, living and communicating with citizens is essential to have a natural flow of language. Another reason for the need of use the language in the original country over a period of time, which gives the opportunity to use the correct terminologies in context, permit gaining fluency. To illustrate this, being able to use the language to purchase your daily products or using it in professional setting by using the appropriate word aids in verbal fluency. Thus socializing on daily basis allows better acquisition of verbal communication. In conclusion, I strongly agree that culture builds an excellent language use that is better than that taken from any course. Living in a region that use that language you will know and understand how people use their native language in their daily life. Moreover, using the correct word in context while daily communication a key to ensure language fluency.