Some people think that wildlife does not belong outside of its natural habitat. They do not think that zoos should exist. Others believe that zoos serve an educational purpose that is more important than the rights of the wild animals. Which side of this a

Nowadays, animals are widely used in many areas. Some people think it will be unnecessary to use them in the near future. I disagree with this idea to a certain extent. While it is true that animal products can be replaced by synthetic products in the clothing industry, humans will still need animals for food and medical research. We do find a lot of ways to avoid using animals. First many types of alternative foods, invented by scientists, taste like meat but are made of soybeans. So people who eat these fake meat dishes can remain vegetarians and still get all the nutrients they need. Using animals for medical research is indeed cruel and immoral. After all, we do not have the right to kill other forms of life for our benefit. Fortunately, the use of animals in medical research and trials is decreasing rapidly. In the clothing industry, also, it is now possible to avoid using animals. For example, synthetic fur and synthetic silk look as good as the real thing and their production does not involve any cruelty to animals. Even so, it is nearly impossible to stop using animals altogether. For example, fish and meat are an integral part of many cuisines around the world. They are major sources of vitamins, minerals and proteins. Meat substitutes are usually expensive and hard to find in many markets. So, if people are told to stop using animal products, they may fail to get adequate nutrition. Likewise, it is impossible to perform medical research without using animals. Of course, this practice is unethical and scientists are working hard to minimise the use of animals, yet there is no justification for stopping the production of some crucial drugs just because their testing involves animals. In summary, we need to respect animals’ right to live and reduce their use for purposes of vanity; however we cannot avoid using them for meeting our nutritional requirements or performing medical research.