Some people think that when recruiting, companies should aim to take on people who are innovative and able to work independently while others consider they should recruit people who are able to work in a team and follow instructions.

Companies look out different criteria based on their needs during employee recruitment. Some individuals are of the opinion that recruiting companies should look out for people with innovating capabilities and independence while others think that factors like teamwork and the ability to be a good follower should take precedence. This essay will discuss both perspectives and argue that a balance of both sides is necessary for the good of any company. Ability to be creative and do duties well without any guidance are, without a doubt, outstanding qualities. Due to the competitive global market, employers are on the look out for such talents because these abilities will put such a firm on the map. In addition, having such a worker increases creative output, which translates into increased profit. Thus, it is logical that some individuals believe that this should be the only qualities to look for in a prospective worker. However, the ability to do tasks in a team is also great quality to possess. Without teamwork, nothing will get done. In most companies, specialisation and division of labour is the order of the day, as no one can do it all. Recruiting only brilliant minds who cannot do tasks together is nothing but a disaster. Furthermore, an employee should be able to adhere to instructions; the absence of this in a worker puts the team and the company at risk. For example, a junior doctor who cannot adhere to the instructions on the drugs to administer to a patient puts not only himself/herself at risk, but also endangers his/her superior's licence, the hospital's and the patient's life. Therefore, a firm should be on the lookout for people who adhere to instructions religiously and can cooperatively work with others. In conclusion, some individuals think that only creative minds and less-dependent people should be employed to work, while others think that people who follow instructions dutifully and work well in a team should be given a chance. This essay discussed these two perspectives and explained why we need a balance of both kinds of individuals to move a workplace forward.