Some people think that what children watch on television will influence their behaviours. Others think that the time they watch television influences their behaviour most.

People hold divergent ideas whether the content or the time that children spend on TV programmes impacts their behaviour most. Both views will be discussed in this essay, followed my own opinion that the behaviour of youngsters are influenced by both sides equally. People supporting the idea that children are affected by what they watch on TV may put forth the following reasons. First of all, one of the characteristics of young children is imitating other’s behaviour. If they are exposed to the TV programmes which contain a lot of violent or gory scenes, the possibility of them to mimick such behaviour will increase. In addition, it is acknowledged that children are naturally immature, hence the development of their morals and value system will be impacted by the types of television they watch. One piece of research conducted by America reveals that more than 20% of young criminals blame their illegal behaviour to the wrong social value conveyed by mass media. Nevertheless, those who believe teenagers’ behaviours is mainly influenced by the time they are exposed to screen also possess some sound points. To begin with, the long time spent by young children on TV makes them be vulnerable to some ailments such as short-sightedness and obesity. For instance, the Times has reported that due to the increasing time of watching TV, the rate of children in British who are suffering from eye problems and obesity has grown significantly. Moreover, spending too much time on TV impedes children to cultivate a bonded and closed relationship with their parents, which leads to an isolated living habit and hampers the development of their social skills. In conclusion, I believe the content watched by children and the time they spend in front of TV place an equal value on cultivating teenagers’ behaviour altogether.