Many students leave high schools without knowing how to manage their money. What are the reasons, and how can they improve their understanding of financial management?

Monetary skill has been an important life skill in people’s daily life. However, it is pointed out that many students finishing their high school without the ability to manage their finance. This essay will discuss the causes of this phenomenon, followed by possible strategies to allocate the problem. The lack of capability to manage their money among students is mainly due to the following reasons. First of all, the inability of school education to impart relative knowledge to students is the primary reason. Because high school regards equipping its students with abundant academic knowledge as its top priority, it seems useless to include any financial related courses into their curriculum system. In addition, students also could not acquire enough practice opportunities to hone their financial skills in their daily life. As high school students are deemed to be immature to look after their own money, it is unlikely for them to acquire suitable opportunities to practice their financial management skills. In order to solve the problem, two effective methods should be adopted. To begin with, the financial management course should become one of the compulsory subjects in high school education. With the better understanding of relative monetary knowledge, students will able to look after their own finance efficiently. Moreover, parents should give their children more opportunities to practice their financial management skill. As such skill can be constantly improved and upgraded in students’ daily life, the continuous practicing will tremendously improve students’ money management ability. In conclusion, the missing of relative education and no practice opportunities are two reasons of the problem, while students’ understanding could be improved by arranging financial management courses and provide students with opportunities to practice their corresponding skills.