Some people think that we live in a society where money and possessions are given too much importance Others believe that this is improving our lives

There is an increase in the percentage of people being at high risk of grave health issues due to being overweight. Evidently, this subject has been getting more and more serious in the recent years. Although there are multiple factors responsible for this, the main causative factor is the change in eating habits. Undoubtedly, diet plays a major role in our physical and mental well being. There is a rise in the consumption of fast food. The food industry has been growing massively, thus increasing people’s options and making their lives easier. Individuals prefer to order-in or dine-in rather than cooking healthy meals for themselves and their families. Adding to that, the so-called healthy treats available in the markets are packed with sugars and preservatives. As technology has progressed, even though it has made our lives much easier, it has also taught people to be more lethargic. With everything being available online, citizens do not want to get out of the comfort of their homes. Therefore, worsening their fitness problems and making them additionally obese. For instance, grocery shopping was a basic, everyday activity that made sure people left their homes and moved their bodies a little, but online pantries have put a stop to that. However, this critical affair can be solved if the governments of different nations recognized this issue and took the necessary steps. First of all, people should be made aware of this matter. Informing them about the dire consequences of being overweight and moreover about the hazardous effects fast food has on their bodies should be done on a large scale. Secondly, making sure that citizens are exercising on a regular basis is crucial. This can be achieved by adding a few minutes of exercise in their work place itself and exercise classes should be non-optional for children. Furthermore, introducing open gyms in parks would reduce the financial barrier that people face due to the high cost of gyms and workout classes. To sum up, health issues due to being overweight are the new cancer of the modern- day society. It is of uttermost importance to make sure that citizens are well informed of this ever-increasing concern; for prevention is better than cure.