Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that video games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. In your opinion, do the drawbacks of video games outweigh the benefits?

Nowadays, video games have been so popular among children as well as adults. In my opinion, although playing video games does have various benefits, its negative outcomes are greater. On the one hand, if people play video games in a reasonable period of time, they would enjoy supprising benefits beyond entertainment. One of the main advantages is that players would improve problem-solving skills. This is because video games involve certain tasks that players need to resolve in order to win or to advance to the next level. As a result, players have to think carefully before making any move which will determine whether they can progress or fail. Moreover, when gaming, people indulge their brain in constant stimulation, both visual and audial. Therefore, those playing games frequently can process stimulators faster than others, which means their brain performance is better. On the other hand, I believe that excessive gaming do more harm than good for people. When video games become a source of addiction, players would spend as much time as possible in front of the screen instead of playing outdoors. This would not only hurt their vision but also their physical development. Gamers may also suffer from the feeling of loneliness and isolation because they do not actively expand their network of real friends, which may become a reason for why they are even more addicted to video games. Another harmful effect of exposure to video games is that it may lead to sleep deprivation. Bedtime may be sacrificed for beating the final boss or rescuing the princess, and continuous stimulation can make it harder to fall asleep or get a good night’s sleep. In conclusion, I think video games’ potential dangers are more significant than the positive effects. Therefore, people should play games less and instead spent more time on socializing and doing exercise.