Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that video games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. In your opinion, do the drawbacks of video games outweigh the benefits?

Playing games are considered an instrument of sound mental and physical health. The trend of indoor games such as video games is proliferating and gaining fame among all age groups – from adolescents to adults. However, the impact of this trend has come under scrutiny and has been a concern for many. The protagonists of such games cite that video games are effective educational tools, whereas dissenters void that claim by counting numerous demerits of such games. I too believe that video games are lethal trends and have negative repercussions. Some of the disadvantages will be outlined in following paragraphs. Firstly, while playing video games, players develop the sedentary position which is harmful to them ergonomically. Additionally, incessant exposure to game monitors could be detrimental to their vision. Other than physical impact, video games also impact emotional and social behaviour negatively, especially to children and adolescents. It can be noticed that the themes of a majority of the video games are prominently based on violent battle, massacre or destroying animal and mankind. Overindulgence to such games makes the young minds of children susceptible to emotional indifference. They could like to emulate the destroyers and warriors regarding them as role models. In contrast, enthusiasts enumerate some credits to the account of video games. They believe that playing such games helps to improve your command on the technical gadgets. It is observed that good players are cognizant of the know-hows of computers and can monitor the game efficiently. Being good at the video game is a demand for the new generation. Many children complain that are marginalised in the school if they are not up-to-date with the video games, which leads to embarrassment for them. To conclude, I would like to reiterate that video games have far more disastrous impacts that outweigh its positive sides. In order to control this destructive trend, parents, teachers, lawmakers and each individual will have to contribute to instigate awareness that video games should be controlled or terminated.