Some people think that public libraries are no longer important, while others disagree.

Public libraries used to be the treasure house of knowledge and information but according to some people in this age of the internet they are of no importance. Of course, many people disagree with this view. In my opinion, state funded libraries certainly have become less important than they used to be; however, I cannot support the argument that they are no longer important. The internet has made state run libraries less important. These days, if you have a device like a smart phone or a computer and an internet connection, you can find up to date information on any topic in a fraction of seconds. Actually, finding information online is a whole lot easier than going to a library and reading voluminous books. Thanks to the search function of the internet, we do not have to turn over pages after pages to find what we want. We just need to type in our query and we get the answer instantly. Needless to say, people who have constant access to the internet no longer visit libraries. On the other hand, public libraries still serve some valuable purpose. To start with, the information on the internet is relatively new whereas libraries have an impressive collection of old manuscripts that are not available online. Also, much of the information online is in English whereas libraries have a huge collection of books written in a wide variety of languages. What’s more, libraries only keep the best reference books on a topic; by contrast, information found online can be unreliable or false because there is no one to check the veracity of data posted online. For this reason, libraries are still the best source of information for research scholars. Libraries also provide a quiet environment where students can read without facing any distractions. In conclusion, there is no denying the fact that public libraries have lost some of their importance. Even so, they are still needed because information stored in a library is always reliable and accurate. Also, libraries have old books and manuscripts that are not available online.