Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace in the future. Others think the true function of a university is to provide access to knowledge for its own sake. What do you think are the main functions of a university?

In this contemporary era, practical skills are most required for acquiring jobs. So, some people believe that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and basic skills, whereas the others argue that the main function of the universities are only to provide access to knowledge. I totally agree with the universities must provide knowledge along with the practical skills. First and foremost, nowadays, each and every field shifting their interests towards integration and automation. Due to this, the graduates must have the abilities to use those complex machines in an appropriate manner. Also, this education is the last stage before the stating field work. Owing to this, the universities must hire expert professors for guide their students effectively. These students pay a big sum of tuition fees for gaining specialised knowledge from the experts. In addition to the above, many fields like engineering, medical and commerce is required practical knowledge rather than theoretical. For example, the subjects like machine design requires more practical skills because in it students have to design various parts of machine with accurate and precise dimensions. If the calculations become inaccurate and the machine will be broken in actual conditions, then there will be loss of almost a hundred lives at a single time because of this university must provide workshops for these subjects so, it will be mitigated in the real world. At last, there are many assumptions used in theoretical knowledge but in the real world, it does not work as people predicted. On the other hand, universities also perform other functions, which help the students in their personal life. They not only organise co-curricular activities, but also they gain many qualities such as self-confidence and positive attitude, which help students in after life. Moreover, some people go to university for only gaining knowledge for their interested subjects. To keep issues in the prospects, universities do not simply prepare a person for employment, but also have many other functions.