Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer.

Whether the role of a university is to prepare graduates for a particular profession or to teach fixed lessons without any emphasis on the profession, this may be an issue to be discussed. This essay believes that the main task of universities is to prepare their graduates for their future jobs. Most university students think of certain professions for a comfortable future, and these often become professions that require hard work, and they must have a good university education in order to have these professions. The most important duty of the universities is to provide the highest possible education to their students so that they can provide a very good future. If universities give lessons without paying attention to the jobs that students want, most graduates would probably not have the profession they wanted and they would live an unhappy life. If universities try to fulfil each student's wishes and classify them according to their interests, both students have the professions they want and thus they are happy, and the university the university would be known by the people. But universities should be very careful in doing this, because they have to show their university students how to do what they want, not what it is their job, and how to proceed, so, that the graduate finishes his/her university with a high level of knowledge and starts his profession. In short, universities should classify their students according to the departments they want instead of just giving specific lessons and give them an education accordingly, and they should also prepare them for the future.