In recent years, many small local shops have closed because consumers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

In recent time, the pattern of shopping amongst the people has drastically changed. The local shops are eradicated from the market; they have been replaced by the large shopping malls in the public’s shopping preferences. Such a change has both bright and dark sides, which will discuss in the following paragraphs. To begin with, the positive development of the market containing the mega malls for the customers, first and foremost advantage is that the consumers have availability of wide range of products including imported goods. This facility allows the people to purchase variety of products willingly, whereas in the local shops, the customers have limited choices. As a result, the standard of living of the people is increasing as compared to the past. For example, the mega malls offers variety of good at discounted rates, hence the people are benefited by having more goods in their budget. Lastly, the local shops are trying to maintain the monopoly in many towns to get extra benefits, owing to availability of the large shopping mall this monopoly is converted into perfect competitive market. Thus, the large malls plays vital role in improving the public lifestyle. On the other hand, such changes brings negative development too. In rural areas the small shops are the backbone of their economy. Due to arrival of the mega malls, many local shops are faded from the market, which creates economic crises to the rural area. As a result, one section of the society has to suffer from unemployment and poverty. Moreover, the local shops, whilst the mega malls provoke the people to purchase imported products instead of local products. For instance, many handicraft small scale businesses of rural regions of India have been disappear due to the mall culture and materialism. Thus, the change in shopping patterns of the people have detrimental effect on domestic economy. In conclusion, the shopping habits of the people are influenced by the large shopping malls, which consists of both positive and negative effects. The government has to form policies of the sustainable business opportunity for the small shops.