Some people think that they can learn better by themselves than with a teacher. Others think that it is always better to have a teacher. Which one do you prefer?

Learning is a process that requires a strategic approach to gain the knowledge completely. Various proven approaches exist to learn different knowledge and skills. Traditionally, the teaching is done by an experienced teacher who is believed to have mastered the skill he teaches. However, some people believe that self-learning is a better approach and thus learn from books without the help of a tutor. However, it is preferred to have a teacher whenever possible. This can be proven by analysing how teachers follow a systematic approach, correct our mistakes, and provide valuable feedback to lead us to achieve success in learning. A systematic approach is essential in learning and it requires subject matter expertise to know the secrets of learning that particular subject. For example, the skills like swimming and driving require a systematic approach to learn them. Only an experienced tutor can teach such a skills and self-learning will not help in such scenarios. Moreover, self-learning may end up in dangerous situations if some learning steps go wrong. Thus, it is apparent that some skills require teachers to learn effectively. Mistakes are common in the learning process. A teacher can help the students by correcting their mistakes and also providing feedback whenever required. On the other hand, a self-learner may not know if he or she is making a mistake in the learning process and may end up learning it wrongly. For instance, a child learning mathematics without a teacher may end up using a wrong arithmetic formula as there is nobody to guide. This shows that a teacher's help in correction and suggestion is important to a successful learning process. In conclusion, it is apparent that a teacher can help students in learning by following a systematic learning style, and amend pupil's mistakes, and provide suggestions and feedback whenever required. Thus, it is a preferred way to learn with tutors.