Some people think that there should be strict laws to control the amount of noise a person makes because of the disturbance it causes to people. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

Nowadays, human right has been becoming a hot topic in all part of the world. One a particular issue is playing a loud song during a party or for self-entertainment, which finally disturbs their neighbourhood. Because of that reason, some agree that the government ought to regulate and impose a strict punishment such as high fine to whoever make noises. This essay will discuss and scrutinize the benefits and drawbacks for each polar views. In one hand, strict law is effective for controlling citizen behaviour. This is due to the fact that informal warning is often disregarded by the community as it does not cause a deterrent effect. For instance, people used to play loud music all-night-long during the wedding party in their houses although many people claimed that they were annoyed. As a consequence, many children might not be able to sleep and were late for school the next day. However, after the government impose a fine for playing loud music at night, the number of noise disturbances reduced dramatically. On another hand, it is apparent that playing music is a human right. People prefer to play music in their leisure time and this right should be protected. Furthermore, strict control for every citizen activities by the government might lead to overpowering. As a matter of fact, numerous corruption cases before the Indonesian reform in 1998, was caused by the government's over control to keep the media silent. As a conclusion, I personally agree that public authority intervention is vital to reduce noises as long as it does not over control. In addition, self-awareness by the citizen to respect others in society must be declared.