Some people think that there should be strict laws to control the amount of noise a person makes because of the disturbance it causes to people. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages

Noise pollution is a daily occurence in some parts of the world and results in deleterious consequences. Some people are of the view that firm legislations to control noise is necessary today. Although, this would be a fast step to reduce noisy disturbances and ensure fairness in our society, it is not without demerits. First of all, an important advantage of such laws is that it would cause a drastic reduction in noise pollution. In other words, when there are punishment or fines for making noise in the public, people would take the regulations serious and ensure fast measures to limit noisy disturbances. For instance, individuals who play loud musics in residential areas would seek other means of playing music so as not to be penalised. This would reduce noise quickly. Furthermore such legislations would ensure fairness in the society. This is owing to the fact that there would be specific punishments for each form of noise disturbance. Thus, people would be aware of the penalty for falling short of the laws and they would not be unduely harassed or prosecuted. However, strict laws against noise are not without disadvantages. Firstly, it would affect the freedom of people. This is because people would be forced to forgo activities they enjoy which constitute nuisance to others. For example, a person may not be able to use loud speakers when listening to music in personal cars or homes in order not to break the law. Secondly, in an effort not to disturb others, people may use accesories such as head gears and earpieces that could cause medical complications. These include deafness, road traffic accidents and depression. With such firm laws, there would be more cases of these health problems. In conclusion, strict legislations to control noise would help to quickly reduce noise and it would ensure a just society. However, it would also impair on personal freedom and results in more medical challenges.