Some people think that the range of technology currently available is increasing the gap between rich people and poor people Others think that it is causing the opposite effect

Section of the society believes that technological advancement has widened the gap between the wealthy and the poor, whereas they are others, who find it as a medium to decrease the status difference between them. This essay is an opinion, that though some discoveries definitely reduced the gap, however, there are other inventions which have make society more polarised. To begin with, some new technology inventions are accessible to everyone irrespective of their economic status. For instances, the internet the biggest development has made the world a global village because of its availability to everybody at the cheaper rate. Nowadays, both the categories can access the internet and related application such as whatsup, facebook. Moreover, some places like hospitals, railway stations, bus stands and airports are WIFI-hotspot where internet is freely available. Online shopping facilities, e-learning opportunities are available to the rich as well as the poor group of people. Therefore, it can state that such inventions have reduced the distance between the two groups to great extent. On the contrary, there are certain innovations which have widened the distance. Modern medical treatment, to name one, is very expensive. Only the economical stable group of people can afford to get good medical facilities. Let’s take an example, treatment of cancer. Some rich people can spend money to get treatment with special protein which is very expensive but with fewer side backs. However, a poor patient has to undergo conventional chemotherapy by spending all of their money and yet there is no guarantee that condition will improve. Such instances suggest the gap is increasing day by day. After analysing both the viewpoints, it can be concluded that different technologies serving society in the different way as some are helping to reduce the gap whereas there are others who are functioning in opposite direction. However, it is hoped that in the future, technology will be a benefit to all people regardless of their financial status.