Some people think that the public libraries are no longer necessary, others believe that public libraries still perform useful functions.

Public libraries are unessential as argued by some, while others consider them essential. Those who support the existence of public libraries are of the view that these are the places of learning, while those who oppose it consider them wastage of money in the era of internet. This essay agrees with the fact that the public libraries are the main source of knowledge and must be supported by the state. Libraries supported by the government are always linked with its seriousness towards knowledge transfer among its people. Those who cannot afford internet or purchase books can acquire information from libraries. These places provide learning opportunities to all sections of the society. Those nations, which believe in knowledge economy always given much focus on promoting library culture among masses by lending them all support needed in running them. For example, in every modern society, libraries are established at the central location of a city with ample recurring budget. Internet, is the latest hub of information. Information is accessible on fingertips on it. Worlds most famous libraries have a virtual presence on internet. Any sort of knowledge can be gathered through them via internet. Whereas, to maintain the physical library consume a lot of resources such as money and human resources. Hence, for many governments it puts an extra burden to finance them. According to recent statistics, almost five percent libraries around the globe are being closed to save the extra money. To sum up, even though internet is taking over libraries, but the importance of libraries is still holding much importance due to their ability in generating a learning culture within a society. Hence, it is essential for government to provide them sufficient funds for their smooth functioning.