Some people think that the public libraries are no longer necessary, others believe that public libraries still perform useful functions.

There is no doubt that libraries are crucial to develop a reading culture in society. Although some people believe that public libraries are not essential anymore, while others argue that they still play a vital role to enhance knowledge. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the argument and explain my support for the latter view. On the one hand, those who believe that public libraries are not significant might argue that they need a heavy budget for smooth operation and maintenance. This is because such ventures are a burden on citizens in the form of tax. For example, digital libraries such as Google Books are accessible on the internet with a variety of books and information. Furthermore, if the government encourages these online innovative platforms, there will be a greater opportunity to save lots of subsidies, which can be utilized for other public sectors. On the other hand, my view is that libraries are important because they provide a study environment as well as peace of mind. The reason for this is a range of reference material available for different subjects with an efficient database. For instance, many readers are inclined towards printed books as these are easy to read and less harmful for their eyes. Moreover, some libraries arrange discounted book fairs in order to attract learning aspirants. Consequently, this encourages public to read more and more, get real, and authentic information effortlessly. In conclusion, despite the operation and maintenance cost of the public libraries. I believe that the prospect of visiting public libraries is positive which outweighs all negatives.