Some people feel that students perform better in school when they are rewarded, while some others feel that they perform better when they are punished. ]

Students have always been under tremendous pressure to perform well in studies. From time immemorial, parents and teachers have tried many methods of improving their pupils’ results, by punishing them or rewarding them. In my opinion, while punishing children might appear to be an obvious choice, rewarding children is a far more effective process. The use of punishment might motivate children to perform well scholastically. This is because some methods of punishment, such as corporal punishment, cause pain and fear, and some others, such as scolding or shouting at children, cause children to feel ashamed and embarrassed. As a result, in order to avoid being punished repeatedly, children could be likely to work harder at school and do their assigned work diligently. Eventually, this attentiveness and studiousness, which came forth as a result of the use of punishment, might cause them to do well in examinations and tests. Thus, punishing children may improve their academic performance. However, rewarding children is far more effective and can lead to sustained improvement at school. Most importantly, recognising children’s academic achievements by awarding them medals, certificates and trophies, makes them feel confident and proud of themselves, which keeps them motivated to perform well consistently. In addition, material rewards, such as toys, pocket money or a vacation, make them feel happy and content, which will inspire them to work harder so that they can receive more gifts in the future. Moreover, verbal appreciation makes children feel valued and appreciated, because of which they will study seriously and do well in school. Hence, rewards are a good way to motivate children to perform well academically. In conclusion, it is evident that while punishment may at times seem to improve academic performance, rewarding children is more effectual especially in the long term. If we truly wish for children to perform well scholastically, we should reward them frequently.