Some people think that the only way to judge someone’s success in life is by the amount of money they make. Is money a true indicator of the success of a life? In what other ways could success in a life be measured?

It is commonly believed that modern technological advancements are widening the gap between the upper class and the lower class. Others, however, believe the opposite. In my opinion, certain technological innovations are available to all people in society and make contributions to bridging the wealth gap, nevertheless, certain innovations are inaccessible to the poor because of their high cost. On the one hand, some people think that certain innovations and discoveries play an integral role in filling the gap between different income levels. This is because they are accessible to all people among different social classes due to their easy availability at cheaper rates. For instance, internet technology is available to almost all sections of the society. It is affordable to all the people and certain places such as railway stations, bus stations and airports are wifi hotspots where the information superhighway is freely available. Besides this, modern technologies have provided great opportunities for the poor to get rich. For example, cyberspace has already made many people become billionaires by setting their own commercial websites. Compared to traditional industries, which require a large initial investment and higher operational costs. Hence, the world wide web is a much better and cheaper platform to make a fortune for people from all social backgrounds. On the other hand, many people argued that certain advancements in technology are not affordable for the lower-income class. Modern medicines, for example, are expensive. Certain new drugs and diagnostic procedures are very costly. Rich people can access these treatments by spending only a small amount of their income and improve their health. Poor people, on the other side, have to spend all of their money on conventional treatment and yet there is no guarantee of returning to a state of good health. To conclude, the latest technology is rephrasing our planet and affecting every aspect of human lives. While some claim that modern technology magnifies the gap between the rich and the poor, I strongly believe that it could narrow the difference between social classes.