Some people think that the most important thing about being rich is it gives a person the opportunity to help other people.

Rich people earn more than enough to lead a comfortable life so that they can spend their disposable income on anything they like. For instance, they can use their excess wealth for the well-being of other people. Take a look around and you will see that the biggest philanthropists are all rich people. Today multi-billionaires in the US and other countries do more philanthropy than the governments of the world. In other words, being rich helps in helping others. Hence, I agree with the given argument to a certain extent. Poor people, on the other hand, have to struggle hard to meet their own needs. When they don’t have enough money to meet their own needs they cannot donate money to help others. On the flip side, charity or philanthropy isn’t all about donating money. It also involves donating time and effort. Both rich and poor people can make a difference to the society. You don’t necessarily have to donate money to help people. If you can spare at least an hour a day you can help people in very many ways. If you are educated and have a few hours to spare a week, you can spend that time in teaching underprivileged kids. Those few hours will make a huge difference to their lives. And for doing that all that you need is a strong desire to help other people. What this means is that although money plays a significant role in helping people it is not the only thing that matters. Charitable institutions also require people who can donate their time and goodwill. In other words, not being rich is no reason to stay out of philanthropy. Looking at both sides of the argument, it doesn’t take a lot of effort to see that richness is not the only factor that determines a person’s ability to help others. It is important, but even if you are not rich you can help people in several other ways.