Some people think that the money spent in developing technology for space exploration is not justified. There are more beneficial ways to spend this money.

In the recent past, countries across the globe has focussed on the space research and a big part of the annual budget is allocated to invent new technologies for the space exploration. There is a group of people, who feels government should provide more funds to find facts about space, whereas, some people thought that this amount should be spent for the peoples' welfare. In my opinion, funds for new technology should be allocated with defined responsiblity, so that people's basic needs should not be compromised by the lack of funds. Below paragraphs would cover the importance of technology and balance which need to be maintained for funds allocation. Innovating a new technology is a mark of the nation's technical growth and stability. Every country would like to be part of the elite club and demonstrate their skills which is possible by empowering their engineers and scientists with the resources and infrastructure for research. For instance, Indian government has funded Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) to place hundreds of satellites in the earth's orbit with the single launcher. This achievement brought a big applause for the nation and contributed to the big profit in a business of placing satellites in the earth's orbit for ISRO as an organisation and it has strengthened the Indian economy also. It is always profitable to allocate funds with clear responsiblity and the feasibility of the project. Although, there are examples across the globe where a budget is allocated for the sake of competition and without any projections or targets. In these scenarios, it would be difficult to justify this action as the same money can be utilized for the citizen's health and education schemes. For example, North Korea had spent a large sum of money to develop the space engines without any plan, however at the same time people in the country are struggling for better health services. It is government's paramount responsiblity to provide the basic facilities like education and health to the citizens. Afterwards, if their economy allows, they can plan funds for the technology. To sum up, government should have defined good responsiblity matrix for the stakeholders before allocating the funds to projects related to space exploration. As this exercise is not more important than the citizens' basic requirement of safety, health or education.