Some people think that the main purpose of school is to turn children to good citizens and workers, rather than benefit them as individuals.

It is obvious that an increasing number of people have realized the importance of education, while the main aim of education has sparked massive debates. Some people argue that schools should put more emphasis on turning younger generation into qualified citizens and workers, rather than focusing on their own benefits. From my own perspective, I agree that the main purpose of education is supposed to be cultivating qualified community members. It is acknowledged that in most countries, governments spend a large amount of expenditure on public education every year. From governments’ perspective, qualified citizens are the key to a prosperous and stable society. By providing education, children will be equipped with all the essential knowledge to preparing them for the adult society in the future. They learn academic knowledge in order to secure employment and make a living after graduation; they will be taught to moral value and laws so as to know how to behave properly. As a result, these well-educated and law-abiding citizens can make positively contribution to society. As for individuals, they also benefit from “good citizenship education”. At school, children can receive knowledge systematically. Teachers in schools are well-trained to provide students with knowledge and guidance. Through school education, children can be prepared for their future life. In addition, characters of being a qualified citizen such as honesty, hard-working and disciplined can help them to gain credit in every aspect in their life. In conclusion, schools should aim atcultivating children to become qualified society members, but individuals will also benefit from school education.