Some people think that strict punishment for driving offencesis th e only way to make road safer.

It is believed that imposing severe punishment on drivers who violate traffic laws is the only measure to improve the safety on roads. I strongly disagree with this statement because there are other measures that can be implemented to tackle this problem. While it is undeniable that punishing drivers who do not obey traffic regulations and laws severely can deter some drivers from behaving inconsiderately or even recklessly, it cannot contribute to a significant reduction in traffic accidents. This is because most accidents occur because the driver cannot resist some temptations such as drinking alcohol or because the driver is affected by distractions like phone calls or their bad moods. No matter how strict the laws are, they would not be effective to control the accident. Therefore, we should seek other alternatives to prevent accidents. To reduce the number of drivers offending regulations, it is necessary for the government to raise drivers’ awareness regarding the consequences of their offences and, more importantly, teach them simple strategies to cope with temptations and distractions. For example, if the government could encourage drivers to use soft drinks to replace alcohol and set their phones in airplane mode while driving, then the underlying/root causes of traffic accidents would be reduced. However, to improve road safety, only/simply promoting proper driving behaviours is not efficient, as there are some risks that are not caused by drivers. For example, poor road conditions and designs, extreme weather may also result in cars crashes. Therefore, the government should also concentrate on improving infrastructures and effective strategies to deal with extreme weathers. As discussed above, to improve road safety, imposing heavy punishments on drivers is not the only approach, thus, it is better for the government to look for more effective options.