Some people think that the internet has brought people closer together, while others think that people and communities become more isolated.

It is undoubtedly true that the used of the internet is prevalent in today’s generation. While some people believe that the usage of the net makes the people’s relationships closer, others argue that it isolate the people and communities. It is agreed that the web makes it possible for the people to have a closer relationship. This essay will evaluate both arguments before a reasoned conclusion is drawn. On the one hand, for those who believe that the internet created a distant involvement of residents in the communities may think that the internet users have become excessively dependent on the computers. This may happen when they spent an enormous amount of time in the front of the computer playing online games or surfing the net. For instance, in the recent survey of the Central University of Queensland, most respondents who are usually students in their younger years, opted to stay regularly at their home using the computer rather than to actively participate in community activities. On the other hand, I support the argument that the net made people’s communication more effective which lead to closer family ties. This is because the internet, which is the information superhighway, opens the communication gateway successfully. The existence of various cyberspace platforms such as the facebook, the skype, and the twitter enable the people to keep track of their lost relatives or friends and send instant messages or emails immediately. For example, Boston University conducted research on the effectivity of the internet on the user’s relationships and found that 80% of them expressed that the communication definitely improved. This is clearly evident that the internet has positively affected the relationship of an individual user. In conclusion, although the uncontrolled access to the web might seriously hamper the involvement of people in their surroundings, I believe that the overall usage of the net made the possibility for every member of the society to have a closer interaction.