A government has a responsibility to the citizens to ensure their safety. Therefore, some people think that the government should increase spending on defense but spend less on social benefits.

In every country, protecting the people at all times from external aggression is paramount to the sovereignty of the government. Therefore, many people argue that resources should be used in consolidating defensive measures other than in improving the quality of life. In my opinion, although spending on defense is imperative, citizens should not be deprived of the benefits of social schemes which are equally important for the people. On the one hand, in an unpredictable era, defending and assuring the safety of its citizens is the prime responsibility of any government. Nowadays, not only do threats of violence occur between two different nations but they can arise at any time within a state, for example terrorism and rebellions. Those war forms are synonymous with the increase unpredictability of wars, possibly leaving the government with a narrower range of response options. As a result, government has to deploy a large number of military personnel throughout the country in terms of crisis. Therefore, to deal with this heightened volatility, the state needs to focus more on defense expenditure and the enforcement of military accoutrements. On the other hand, the vaunted military-industrial complex has been no match for the need to provide people with optimum living standard, which is an essential and permanent part of our social fabric. Social benefits cover the whole spectrum of people’s day-to-day operations. Moreover, it actually depends on the geopolitical and domestic condition of the nation. Take the USA, for example, it is surrounded by non-hostile nations on two sides and by large oceans on the other two, the demand for social welfare obviously eclipses the need for defense expenditure. Hence, without an efficient welfare system, citizens would suffer long-term afflictions and the whole country would cripple even in the absence of wars and violence. To conclude, I believe that although defense spending to circumvent outward threats is of utmost importance, the government should also pay attention to improving its people’s quality of life. Until wars and violence comes to a halt, the government will have to separate its budget in appropriate quantities to provide its citizens with the best life standard.