Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

In this day and age, education system has changed a lot as a result of different point of views for people. Some people believe students should study the subjects they like while others advocate that only certain subjects provide by university are allowed. As far as I am concerned, both statements are reasonable. There are several reasons why university students should choose their favorable course’ subjects to study. First and foremost, in my opinion, society will be the beneficiary as students are passionate what they are learning. Passionate as they are, can university graduates become more productivity in the future. Apart from this, subject such as arts could be valuable in business rather than practical skills or technical skills. This is because in recent days in this contemporary society, the market is very competitive and creative things are very essential in order to capture the attention of the publics. Therefore, it could be predicted that more students of art are needed for business development in the future. Despite of these arguments, I believe that university should offer certain subjects which will benefit for the individuals and society. Firstly, Subjects such as science, technology and medicine, more often than not, are more useful and beneficial than art degrees. On an individual perspective, most obviously, these courses provide more job opportunities, better salaries and as a result of improving quality of living. On the societal point of view, the government can ensure that skills and knowledge in the economy are covered by forcing students to take certain subjects. Consequently, this would guarantee students to have better job prospects and the government would not worry leak of professional in certain fields. In conclusion, while there are two distinctive spectrums to both statements, but subjects such as science, technology and medicine are more instrumental than other subjects. I think, therefore, graduates should study certain subjects in which benefit to themselves and the governments.