Some people think that the government is responsible for looking after the elderly. Others believe that it should be family members. Who do you think should take responsibility?

Taking care of senior people is a debatable issue nowadays. Although some think it is the government obligation to look after the elderly, other claims taking care of senior members is the duty of family members. I, however, believe that it is a responsibility of both. The government plays an integral role in taking charge of senior citizens by increasing pension years. If any elderly do not have offspring to look after them at least the government pension will be there to survive, which is the premium right of everyone. As a result, they do not tend to open hands in front of their relative just for the sake of living. Besides this, higher authorities should build hospitals, and provide a free nursing home for elderly in order to look after them in the form of well-equipped machines, qualified and trained nurses to deal with mobility problems in geriatric. Apart from the aforementioned view, I think the family is also to be blamed to take care of their elders because at one time they were the only ones for their children to support, motivate and impart unconditional love. So it would be a small amount for their children to look after their elders when they are in need. Family love and affection is the sheer thing, which deters the elderly from feeling lonely and consequently, they feel happy and joyous just by seeing their offspring in front of them. No amount of money can render such happiness as they get from their family members. Moreover, children can set an example for their future generation by taking care of seniors at home so that their kids do not leave them in nursing homes but let them stay at home only. In conclusion, although some believe taking care of the elderly is the duty of the government, others are of the school of thought that it is the responsibility of family members. I, however, believe that it should be the joint responsibility of the government and family by providing well-equipped facilities, and creating a good ambience at home for the elderly to feel blissful.