some people think that the government have the duty to ensure its citizens have a healthy diet, while others argue it is the responsibility of each individual.

An often debated topic is whether the government should guarantee food safety for its people. Although there are good reasons to support this, I believe that individuals should be responsible for their meals. A healthy diet depends primarily on foods available in the market, and for this reason it would be necessary for the government to control food sources. Without governmental control, citizens would find it difficult to know which foods are safe for their meals. By imposing food laws, the government can limit the level of additives that food producers use, allowing consumers to eat healthily and reducing the risk of food poisoning. On the other hand, when a person decides what to eat, they do so of their free will, and this should be respected. Some foods are known as unhealthy, but only when people consume them excessively or frequently. For example, the consequences of the intake of fast food are not worth mentioning if we do not eat it regularly. Any involvement of the government with the daily choices would merely restrict the options we have. Furthermore, some people have an allergy to a particular type of foods although it is generally healthy to others. It is unjustified for the government to restrict the consumption of mushrooms just because a few people cannot eat them. From this view, I feel that each person should be responsible for what they eat rather than relying on any policy from the government on food choices. In conclusion, it seems to me that people should bear the responsibility for a healthy diet despite undeniable advantages of governmental control over food choices.